top of page

August Burns Red

Greetings,

Yesterday Denna and I attended the August Burns Red concert thanks to Mike and his lovely friend. Walking into The Danforth Music Hall in Toronto was like walking into the past. I have always loved metal music growing up and to be immersed in it again was an unparalleled experience. I truly missed the atmosphere; the people are so friendly (when not in the mosh pit). Not only being at the show brought back memories but we saw a few high school friends as well. The last time I was at a concert hall for this genre was in grade 11 and we took a party bus to The Opera House in Toronto to support a friends band, not to forget all the Dungeon visits before it got shut down.

August Burn Red defiantly put on an amazing show and I really enjoyed Everytime I Die, who played before them. Unfortunately the lead singer of Everytime I Die was not able to attend and they had a sub, there were some mix reviews from a few of the ladies in the washroom but I couldn't tell the difference with all the screaming and what not.

A friend mentioned to me that I was the girl at the rock show, this immediately made me think of the Blink 182 song - The Rock Show. Here is a list of old school songs that I believe are timeless.

A Day To Remember - If It Means Alot To You

Jimmy Eat World - The Middle

The Offspring - You're Gonna Go Far, Kid

From First to Last - Emily

Hawthorne Heights - Ohio Is for Lovers

The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus - Your Guardian Angel

The Holly Springs Disaster - Up in Smoke (House party theme song?)

Plain White T's - Hey There Delilah

Rise Against - Prayer Of The Refugee

Flobots - Handlebars

Gorillaz - Feel Good

Elliot Smith - Between the Bars + Say yes

City & Colour - Casey's Song

Taking back Sunday - Make Dam Sure

My Chemical Romance - Helena

Boys like Girls - Hero/Heroine

All American Rejects - It Ends Tonight

Protest The Hero - Sequoia Throne

These bands will always have a special place in my heart, amongst all the memories with a bunch of hooligans. Of all the bands I listened to in high school, the first band I really fell in love with was Billy Talent.

Billy Talent - Adlum 1

This last one I just threw in here for fun.

The songs mentions above are not all the songs I loved during my younger years, maybe I'll do a post about the others.

Search by Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page