top of page

The basement project

For the past month or so I have vigorously been working on my basement. This has defiantly been the biggest project I’ve ever done. Thankfully I wasn’t alone and with the help of my amazing friends I was able to sell almost every single piece of furniture in my basement. Cindy introduced me to this group called “Pickering, Ajax, Whitby, Oshawa Bidding Wars”, this group has thousands of members and you can post almost anything in it and people bid on it. Now I didn’t turn a huge profit but I used that money to put back into the changes I will be making. I honestly called Tiffany on several occasions to help me work it and follow the “rules”, I think its safe to say half the host team at our work use this group now. My mom was actually really proud of me for how I devised this plan of action.

For those who didn’t know but my walls were painted a light yellow with brown and taupe furniture. A lot of the furniture was very big and took up a lot of space, after replacing it with minimal items the room really opened up. I’ve been watching home reno shows all my life as well as “what not to wear” so I thank my mom when it comes to my interior design skills and dressing myself. I’d also like to give a huge thanks to Melissa who has amazing style (in every aspect) with inspiring me to go through with this idea. She showed me a recent picture of her newly designed closet and that was enough to convince me. I originally planned to have two PAX Wardrobes side by side but I decided to keep it minimal and stay with one. I am so relieved I now have 4 areas in the house to put my clothes and my clothing can come off the floor. I won’t go through every step but I’ve listed a few below. Just incase anyone is planning to do a redesign; these are some things to expect.

  • Clean up: Thank you Cindy for all your help if you’re reading this

  • Getting it out: Second hardest thing to do

  • Painting: THE hardest and most time consuming (give yourself an entire weekend)

  • Plan: Draw the redesigned layout on paper and do all your measurements correctly

  • New furniture purchase: THE best part. Thanks to Andy and Denna for making the trip with me!

  • Thing won’t always go your way: When setting up a drawer my mom accidently broke a piece and the couch I ordered was the wrong color. But that’s okay because my mom and I went back to IKEA and fixed it.

  • Putting it together: “MOOOOOMM….” I’d like to say I built most of it but I’d be lying. My mom built pretty much everything and I was her helper. Allow yourself to breathe if the directions don’t seem to make sense, putting it down and try again in a bit!

  • Buy wine for those who never stop supporting you :)

Here is a list of things I bought for this redesign. This project will continue growing and I will keep adding/taking away things. I'll defiantly do an update in a while.

IKEA

LACK TV bench in black

Wal-Mart

Laundry Hamper in grey (couldn't find link)

Silver decor skull (couldn't find link)

Pillow in black (couldn't find link)

Amazon

Before:

Click on images to view gallery:

After: SO MUCH ROOM FOR ACTIVITIES!

I adore this silver tray from IKEA, since I went with an ottoman instead of a coffee table I felt like I needed something sturdy to put things on. You can use it to put tea, books, a snack or wine - perfect! I added the skull for a persoanl touch.

"I want everything black, white or grey" - Ashley

"Easy there Kylie Jenner" - Denna

Search by Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page